Understanding auto insurance policies can be confusing and when choosing a policy, it can be tempting to skip over the fine print and just choose the cheapest option. Still, in doing so you may miss out on important add-ons that can significantly improve your safety and the safety of your car.
Although Florida law requires all drivers to carry certain amounts of car insurance coverage, it is essential to have additional protection because Florida is a no-fault state.
In Florida, What Amount of Coverage is Required for Car Insurance?
All drivers in Florida are required by law to have two types of auto insurance. Before registering any motor vehicle, the state mandates that you provide documentation of your property damage liability (PDL) and personal injury protection (PIP). No matter how little the vehicle is used, all registered automobiles are required to maintain continuous PIP and PDL insurance coverage. If you don’t have both, your driver’s license and license plates may be suspended for three years. According to Florida Statutes Section 627.736, drivers are required to carry a minimum of $10,000 in PDL as well as $10,000 in PIP insurance.
Car Insurance Add-ons
Although personal injury protection offers some coverage, there may still be significant out-of-pocket costs associated with uncovered expenses. Car insurance policies can be enhanced by adding additional protection not included in the basic plan. Even though not all add-on benefits are necessary, some common policy protections can be beneficial and help support a legal claim.
Up to the policy’s limit, Florida’s PIP insurance pays 80% of the medical costs resulting from an automobile accident. If you don’t have an additional benefit like MedPay, you might have to pay the final 20%.
MedPay is a separate, supplemental plan, commonly referred to as car medical payment coverage, and may be offered on your insurance plan for an additional cost. If you sustain a major injury in an accident and require rapid medical attention or physical therapy but lack health insurance or the other driver’s liability insurance does not cover you, having this insurance supplement may protect you.
Collision and Comprehensive Insurance
Collision and comprehensive auto insurance are different add-ons that are commonly confused. Although neither is required by law in Florida, both might be crucial to your insurance plan. Collision insurance will cover both you and the other driver in a standard car accident. Collision coverage may not cover your automobile if it is damaged in a way other than a collision. In addition to collision coverage, comprehensive coverage can protect your vehicle from damage caused by natural disasters, vandalism, and theft.
Uninsured motorist (UM) and Underinsured motorist (UIM)
By law, every driver operating a vehicle in Flordia is required to be insured. However, a 2021 study by the Insurance Research Council (IRC) found several uninsured drivers in the United States, particularly in Florida, where over 20% of drivers do not have insurance. Uninsured drivers may face legal penalties as well as suspensions of their registration and licenses if they cause a car accident. The uninsured motorist (UM) and underinsured motorist (UIM) add-on coverages will protect you financially against losses caused by uninsured or underinsured drivers.
Contact Us Today
In terms of add-ons, there are a lot of options that can better prepare you in case of an accident. If you or a loved one finds themselves in a car accident on the streets of Miami, please contact our office as soon as possible before communicating with our insurance company. Our knowledgeable legal team can examine the terms of your existing and proposed policies to ensure you get the most out of your insurance program’s coverage.